*confessions of a wannabe professional Christmas cookie decorator

Design, Misc.

So I haven’t gotten a chance this year to do any baking. But…I have had a chance to do a lot fantasizing about decorating cookies. Yes. I admit, I have an obsession with the decadence of ornately painted Christmas cookies. Especially the ones with complex Scandinavian and Ukrainian motifs. (If you think these are pretty, just wait till I start posting about Easter cookies in a few months!!!!)
My grandma is a pro of this stature. A true cookie-decorator extraordinaire. Each Christmas growing up she would create these incredible master-piece cookies. Trees, candy canes, snow flakes, and ones with her grand children’s names carefully written in cursive. How lovely! The thoughtfulness of her individual designs and intricate patterning always mesmerized and charmed me.
Alas…I’m afraid my present schedule will not permit this level of indulgence into the world of cookie decorating. But this season I endeavor to get my icing on in a big way. In the mean time, I gotta admit that these also just really inspire me as a drawer and lover of design, and color.

IMG_3333.JPG

IMG_3335.JPG

IMG_3337.JPG

IMG_3336.PNG

IMG_3334.JPG

IMG_3330.JPG

IMG_3332.JPG

IMG_3331.JPG

IMG_3329.JPG

IMG_3327.JPG

IMG_3324.JPG

IMG_3328.JPG

IMG_3322.JPG

IMG_3321.JPG

IMG_3320.JPG

IMG_3323.JPG

Leave a Reply

