*Willingness to Give

Faith, thoughts

This week Andy continued his series on giving freely.
Instead of emphasizing the importance of the act of giving in general, he spoke about the significance of being willing to give. It doesn’t matter how much you give, you must have a willing heart!
You can check out the sermon here ! Here are my notes.

My favorite statements from this talk were:
When you loose you ‘why’ you loose your way.

Our hope is not in riches but in the God who richly provides.

Charge them that are rich in this present world, that they be not high minded, nor have their hope set on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who giveth us richly all things to enjoy; that they do good, that they be rich in good works, that they be ready to distribute, willing to communicate; laying up in store for themselves a good foundation against the time to come, that they may lay hold on the life which is (‭1 Timothy‬ ‭6‬:‭17-19‬ ASV)

for it is God who worketh in you both to will and to work, for his good pleasure. (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭13‬ ASV)

It is God who does the work in you. It is not your efforts! It is God that inspires you and me to get excited about serving and giving.

For if the readiness is there, it is acceptable according as a man hath, not according as he hath not. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭8‬:‭12‬ ASV)

A person may give because of…
Joy It is joyful to give.
Obedience because the one I have surrendered my life to instructs me to give.
Blessing because giving positions me for God’s blessing and protection. Thou shalt surely give him, and thy heart shall not be grieved when thou givest unto him; because that for this thing Jehovah thy God will bless thee in all thy work, and in all that thou puttest thy hand unto. (‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭15‬:‭10‬ ASV)
Covenant because I am in convent with God and with you. It is doing something together as a church body.
Vision because I believe in the vision of our church.
Example because I want my contributions to match my convictions. I hope to be someone who people remember as someone who gave a freely and wisely.
Eternity because I want to hear well done. When I meet Jesus face to face I want to know that I have used what I have been generously given for the Kingdom.

There is a danger. That would be if we give only with spontaneity and pure emotion. In the bible we instead see examples of giving intentionally.
We don’t need a spasm of passion to give but a line of obedience in the same direction.

But this I say, He that soweth sparingly shall reap also sparingly; and he that soweth bountifully shall reap also bountifully. Let each man do according as he hath purposed in his heart: not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭9‬:‭6-7‬ ASV)

We should not give with compulsion. We should pre-decide to give. We need to have willing hearts.

ye being enriched in everything unto all liberality, which worketh through us thanksgiving to God. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭9‬:‭11‬ ASV)

There is a reward for those who pre-decide to give. Do not give with compulsions or reluctance. Give with eternity in mind. Give because people need Jesus.

And he sat down over against the treasury, and beheld how the multitude cast money into the treasury: and many that were rich cast in much. And there came a poor widow, and she cast in two mites, which make a farthing. And he called unto him his disciples, and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, This poor widow cast in more than all they that are casting into the treasury: for they all did cast in of their superfluity; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living. (‭Mark‬ ‭12‬:‭41-44‬ ASV)

The old women gave very little compared to the rich people who gave and yet Jesus said that she gave the most. Her giving, despite that it was small, was off the charts.

God has blessed me with more than I need so I can make an eternal difference in the lives of others

Leave a Reply

